Chicagoland Speedway announces the addition of the Automobile Racing Club of America sanctioned race on Saturday, September 1, 2001. The ARCA RE/MAX Series, formally known as the Bondo/Mar-Hyde Series, is the fourth scheduled event to be held during the inaugural season at the new 1.5 mile D-shaped tri-oval in Joliet, Illinois. The ARCA RE/MAX Series coupled with the Indy Racing League Northern Light Series Sunday, September 2 completes the second race weekend in 2001. NASCAR will christen the state-of-the-art track the weekend of July 14th and 15th when the Busch Grand National Series and Winston Cup Series visit the speedway. The Automobile Racing Club of America was founded in 1953 in Toledo, Ohio as a Midwest-based stock car auto racing sanctioning body. ARCA's founder, John Marcum, had raced against and worked as an official for Bill France, Sr., who founded NASCAR in 1949. Now in its 6th decade and hundreds of thousands of racing miles later, ARCA is recognized as among the leading sanctioning bodies in the country. ARCA administrates approximately 100 race events each season in four professional touring series and local events on a weekly basis. Some 400-race drivers are licensed by ARCA to compete for well over $3 million in prize money each season. Well recognized as one of the longest running and most historical racing series in existence, the ARCA RE/MAX Series sanctions 20-25 events each season. Among the annual stops are such prestigious facilities as Daytona International Speedway, Talladega Superspeedway, Pocono International Raceway, Michigan Speedway, Lowe?s Motor Speedway, Kentucky Speedway and Atlanta Motor Speedway. Intermediate and short track races at Toledo, Shady Bowl and Kil Kare Speedways in Ohio, Flat Rock Speedway and Berlin Raceway in Michigan, the Springfield and DuQuoin State Fairgrounds in Illinois, and Salem, Winchester and Anderson Speedways in Indiana comprise the remainder of the 2000 schedule. Among the drivers who won their first superspeedway race in the Automobile Racing Club of America are Benny Parsons, Adam Petty, Kyle Petty, Mark Martin, Tim Richmond, Michael Waltrip, Tracy Leslie, Joe Ruttman, Davey Allison, Ernie Irvan, Rick Wilson, Jeff Purvis and Mike Wallace. Others who drove in ARCA events as an experience toward future professional racing successes include Jeremy Mayfield, Danny Sullivan, Phil Parsons, Lake Speed, Brett Bodine, Alan Kulwicki, Charlie Glotzbach, Darrell Waltrip, Jimmy Spencer, Ken Schrader, Sterling Marlin, Clifford Allison, Ted Musgrave, Jim Sauter, Adam Petty, Ron Hornaday and Dick Trickle. So many drivers in NASCAR Winston Cup racing today competed in Automobile Racing Club of America Series events early in their careers that usually two-thirds to three-quarters of the starting field at any given Winston Cup event have ARCA experience.
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

Chicagoland Speedway
500 Speedway Blvd, Joliet, Illinois 60433 Tickets & Information Call 888.629.RACE (7223)

© 2020 Chicagoland Speedway


ISC Track Sites